Spokane Schools

Eight public schools in Missouri have been selected as 2013 Blue Ribbon Schools by the U.S. Department of Education, and two are in Christian County.

Spokane and Nixa high schools are among a select group of less than 300 schools nationwide to earn the Blue Ribbon distinction.

The national award honors schools whose students achieve at very high levels or who have made significant progress to close gaps in achievement, especially among disadvantaged and minority students.

A total of 286 schools nationwide ‒ 236 public and 50 private ‒ earned national honors this year, according to a Sept. 24 announcement by U.S. Secretary of Education Arne Duncan.

Missouri's Blue Ribbon schools are:

  • Bolivar High School, Bolivar R-I School District

  • Brentwood High School, Brentwood School District

  • Lee's Summit West High School

  • Lee's Summit R-VII School District- Nixa High School, Nixa R-II School District

  • Sappington Elementary School, Lindbergh Schools, St. LouisSpokane High School, Spokane R-VII School District, Highlandville

  • Willow Springs High School, Willow Springs R-IV School District

  • W.W. Keysor Elementary School, Kirkwood R-VII School District

"Congratulations to the administrators, teachers and students on this achievement," Missouri Commissioner of Education Chris L. Nicastro said in a press release. "Their dedication to improving education helps provide students with the knowledge and skills they need to be successful in college, other postsecondary training and a career."

College and career readiness is a primary goal of the state's Top 10 by 20 initiative, which calls for Missouri to rank among the top 10 performing states in the nation in education by the year 2020.

The Blue Ribbon award recipients were also recognized earlier this year in the state-level Gold Star Schools program, conducted by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education.

Since 1982, nearly 7,500 of America’s schools have received the Blue Ribbon Schools Award. The state and national programs are part of a larger effort to identify and disseminate knowledge about best school-leadership and teaching practices.

This year’s Blue Ribbon schools winners will be formally recognized Nov. 18-19 at an awards ceremony in Washington, D.C.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.