Terry Writer MSHOF

Former Clever and Ozark coach Terry Writer, second from right, was inducted into the Missouri Sports Hall of Fame Dec. 13. Other inductees included, from left, coach Sue Schuble, representing the Kickapoo High School girls basketball program, former Mizzou standout Doug Smith and longtime high-school basketball coach Lynn Long.

Former Clever High School and Ozark High School basketball coach Terry Writer joined the Missouri Sports Hall of Fame Dec. 13 alongside former University of Missouri standout Doug Smith, fellow coach Lynn Long and the Kickapoo High School girls basketball program in front of a crowd of 750-plus at the Oasis Hotel & Convention Center in Springfield.

The induction ceremony was part of the hall’s annual Basketball Luncheon.

“We are delighted to welcome our latest inductees,” MSHOF executive director Jerald Andrews said. “Each made great contributions to the sport and continue to give back. It was a delight to re-live their careers. We also wish to thank their family, friends and communities for supporting the event.”

Writer is in the midst of his 38th season coaching high-school basketball and entered the 2017-18 season with a record of 751-316. That includes a 248-129 record in the past 14 seasons at Mansfield High School.

A 1966 graduate of Blue Eye High School who played baseball at Crowder College before finishing his degree at Missouri State University, Writer began coaching in the fall of 1971. He had stops at Norwood, Wheaton and Clever in his first 11 seasons before spending 10 seasons at Ozark High School, where he also was the athletic director for nine years. After one season at New Covenant Academy, Writer then took over at Mansfield in the fall of 2003.

Three of his teams — 1978 Wheaton girls, 1984 Ozark boys and 2007 Mansfield boys — were state runners-up. Ten of his teams won district titles, while 36 won conference tournaments and 15 won regular-season conference titles.

The Missouri Sports Hall of Fame also honored 10 former high-school, college and professional standouts with Filbert Five awards, named for Gary Filbert. Filbert was a successful high school basketball coach who was the founder of the Show-Me State Games as well as the Missouri Basketball Coaches Association. Filbert is a Missouri Sports Hall of Fame inductee and in 2011 was honored as a Missouri Sports Legend by the Hall of Fame.

The Filbert Five men’s team featured Wesley Culver (Hartville High School/College of the Ozarks), David Coutchie (Seymour High School/Southwest Baptist University), Brad Gregory (Montgomery County High School/Drury University), Gary “Cat” Johnson (Joplin Memorial High School/Oral Roberts/New Jersey Nets) and J.J. Tauai (Verona High School/Bradley University/Lithuania Basketball League/Baltic League).

The women’s Filbert Five featured Katie Howard Clopton (Reeds Spring High School/College of the Ozarks), Marsha Burton High (Marionville High School/Missouri State University/Evangel University), Trish Van Diggelen Marsh (Marshfield High School/Missouri S&T), Kiana Bock Miller (Stockton High School/Drury University) and Jamesia Price (Blue Springs High School/St. Louis University).

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.