Log in

Three-time All-COC First-Teamer Combs league's POY; Roberts also a First-Teamer


Kael Combs’ third straight season as a member of the All-COC First Team includes the senior guard being tabbed the COC Player Of the Year.

Combs’ senior numbers included nightly norms of 23.4 points and 6.9 rebounds, to go along with season totals of 177 assists and 75 steals.

He led Nixa in scoring, rebounding, assists and steals.

The lefty shot 54 percent from the field (166-of-279), including 44 percent from 3-point land (61-of-138). 

Combs captained Nixa to its third straight outright COC championship, to go along with a co-championship from his freshman season. The Eagles extended their conference winning streak to 32 games.

Ozark’s Hudson Roberts is one of two sophomore chosen to the First Team. Roberts topped the Tigers with a 16.1 scoring average. He shot 42 percent on his 3-pointers and 45 percent overall.

The rest of the First Team includes Republic’s Ahlante Askew and Brenley Hagewood, Carthage’s Max Templeman, Joplin’s All Wright and Neosho’s Isaiah Green. All are seniors except for Hageman, a sophomore.

Combs, Askew, Templeman, Wright and Green are all unanimous choices.

Nixa’s Josh Peters and Garrett Hines and Ozark’s Jace Whatley lead the Second-Team picks. 

Peters averaged 12.6 points and 4.2 rebounds a night.

Whatley topped Ozark with a 6.9 rebounding average, to go along with a 13.5 points-per-game clip.

Hines averaged 9.2 points a game.

The rest of the Second Team includes Carl Junction’s Ayden Bard, Carthage’s Justin Ray, Joplin’s Terrance Gibson and Webb City’s Barron Duda.

The Third Team is made up of Branson’s Justin Gill, Neosho’s Carter Baslee, Webb City’s Alex Martin, Carl Junction’s Cooper Vediz and Willard’s Drew Quinlan and Cooper Wilken.

Nixa’s Brock Blansit is the league’s Coach Of the Year.